Coloured square with the text 'New Conversations'

New Conversations is a programme funded and delivered by the British Council, Farnham Maltings, and the High Commission of Canada in the UK. The fund is designed to encourage and support the development of creative exchange, collaboration and partnerships between artists and arts organisations in the performing arts sector in the UK and Canada.

New Conversations aims to provide opportunities to initiate challenging and inquisitive conversations, exchange ideas and practices and develop ambitious creative research and development projects that can offer first steps for artistic collaborations and productions between Canada and the UK.

The fund is open to Canada and UK-based artists, collectives, independent companies and organisations of theatre and dance but we welcome applications from collaborations across art forms (please refer to eligibility requirements for more details).

New Conversations will fund up to $8,700.00 CAD/£5,000 GBP toward collaborative and sustainable creative projects that can deliver long-term benefits for the performing arts sectors in both countries:

  • To increase cultural exchange opportunities between UK and Canada, allowing for more artist mobility and international opportunities
  • To share best practices and networks through exchange, to increase skills, develop ideas and new artistic vocabulary between professional artists and organisations
  • To support visibility and representation of voices and a diversity of dialogues in the performing arts sector 
  •  To support research, development and creation, and seed support for future collaborations and productions

The application must be uploaded to the New Conversations Application Portal no later than May 31, 2019 at23:59 GMT or 17:59 EST. All applications submitted after this date will not be considered. The application can be downloaded at the bottom of this webpage.

We will be hosting a Q&A webinar on May 2 at 9:30am Vancouver/12:30pm Toronto/ 5:30pm UK, please register and join here: http://bit.ly/2CTKfFc

If you have any accessibility requirements for the application, please contact Carrie Hage at carrie.hage@britishcouncil.org.

Click here for our Frequently Asked Questions

Click here for our Criteria and Terms!